KGLP Slide Show

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

KGLP wins News Award from the New Mexico Broadcasters Association

KGLP wins News Award from the New Mexico Broadcasters Association

KGLP 91.7fm, a public radio station housed at the University of
New Mexico Gallup branch campus, is among a number of New Mexico TV and Radio
stations that will receive awards from the New Mexico Broadcasters Association
on June 9, 2012, in Albuquerque.

KGLP's award was for "Single Topic News Coverage" of events hosted by the BNSF
Railway on July 31 and August 1 of 2011 during which the Pueblos of Laguna and
Acoma were invited on the "BNSF Special", a train in which a variety of
conversations about the history of relations between the Pueblos and the
railroad took place, as well as discussions about future collaborations.  KGLP
Station Manager Rachel Kaub produced this one-hour edition of "Friday Forum",
a public affairs program airing on KGLP each Friday from 1 until 2 p.m.,
Mountain.  The documentary first aired on August 12, 2011.

--- May 14, 2012 NMBA Press Release Excerpted Below ---


ALBUQUERQUE, May 14, 2012 ‐The New Mexico Broadcasters Association (NMBA)
announced the winners of the association’s Excellence in Broadcasting
Awards today. The awards reflect the outstanding achievement of broadcasters
for the calendar year 2011 and recognize exceptional news coverage,
entertainment and production across five radio markets and one television
market. The winning entries represent innovative news coverage and quality
programming across the state.

Broadcast professionals from Alabama, Colorado and Oklahoma, Indiana and
California representing television and radio entities of similar market
sizes, served as this year’s judges.

The NMBA will present this and awards to other broadcasters at the annual
NMBA Excellence in Broadcasting Awards Banquet on June 9, 2012 in

KGLP's award details are as follows:

Single Topic Event News Coverage

KGLP-FM - KGLP Friday Forum covering commemorative Pueblo-rail event

Producer and Host, Rachel Kaub

(The full awards list is at -
note that "Station of the Year" in each division goes to those broadcasters
with the most awards...)

No comments:

Post a Comment